Bands from the indie elite are lining up to pay tribute to 20 years of Merge Records.

Merge Records is offering a series of  14 compilation records in 2009 curated by bands, actors, comics and other celebrities including Peter Buck of R.E.M., The Upright Citizens Brigade, Amy Poehler, David Byrne and Zach Galifianakis. The series is available via subsrciption on Merge Records website and the releases will be mailed throughout 2009.

The subscription will set you back $179 before November 8 and $199 after. The proceeds will benefit charities picked by the curators of the compilation albums.

In addition to the series, a subscription will also include The Merge Covers Album and The Merge Remix Album. The Covers Album will feature artists like Death Cab For Cutie, Bright Eyes, Ryan Adams, The Apples In Stereo and others covering their favorite songs from the Merge catalog. The Remix Album, obviously enough, will feature remixes of Merge favorites by Battles, Caribou and Junior Boys among others.

Check out the lists of artists involved in the two albums after the break.

The Merge Covers Album artists (a few more are still TBA):

Ryan Adams
The Apples In Stereo
Bright Eyes
Bill Callahan
Laura Cantrell
Death Cab for Cutie
Dirty Projectors
Calvin Johnson
Ted Leo & The Pharmacists
Les Savy Fav
Barbara Manning
Mountain Goats
The National
The New Pornographers
Okkervil River
Times New Viking
Tracey Thorn & Jens Lekman

The Merge Remix Album artists:

Jason Forrest
Hands Off Cuba
Kieran Hebden (Four Tet)
Junior Boys
John McEntire
Barbara Morgenstern
Mark Robinson