Who knew that Cabo Wabo Tequila would be the fuel for the evolution of classic rock? Apparently, Sammy Hagar.

Van Halen members Hagar and Michael Anthony, Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith, and Grammy-nominated shredder Joe Satriani have come together to form the supergroup Chickenfoot, which boasts that they “could rival Zep.”

The statement seems like a stretch considering that most music maniacs are still banking on a full-on Led Zeppelin reunion, but we’ll see how Chickenfoot lives up to their claim when they release a self-titled album on June 5 and tour through the summer. There are no North American shows planned so far, but check out the European dates below the jump:

June 23: Cork – Live at the Marquee
June 25: London – Shepherd’s Bush Empire
June 29: Paris – Olympia
July 1: Madrid – TBC
July 5: Udine – Lignano Sbbiadoro
July 7: Hamburg – Grosse Freiheit
July 8: Copenhagen – Vega

As the story goes, the band united by “accident” (AKA good times with free Tequila) at Hagar’s Cabo Wabo Cantina in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico.

The album will include a heat-sensitive sleeve that reveals artwork when touched, so you literally have to get your hands on the record to witness it in its full glory!

Check out the tracklisting:

1. Avenida Revolution
2. Soap On A Rope
3. Sexy Little Thing
4. Oh Yeah
5. Runnin’ Out
6. Get It Up
7. Down the Drain
8. My Kinda Girl
9. Learning To Fall
10. Turnin’ Left
11. Future In The Past

Two of the tracks, “Soap On A Rope” and “Down the Drain,” are available for a listen on the band’s MySpace.

The tunes really do emulate the fearless wailing and pounding riffs of Led Zeppelin in their younger days, but is the world ready for a replacement rock saviour? Tell us what you think about Chickenfoot’s claim!

Source: NME