newmusic1There’s some folk-rock, power-pop and indie-rock in this week’s new music round up; it’s a lot of dashes, but this quartet of old faves and new classics has us waiting excitedly to get our hands on their music.

Known to music lovers as the band that put the power in power pop, Big Star might not be as popular today, generally speaking, as some of their ‘70s counterparts, but their influence on those producing melodic, pop-rock is indisputable. That said, fans will be happy to know that four discs worth of unreleased demos, alternate takes, rarities, and live cuts are set for release this fall when Rhino releases Keep An Eye On The Sky on September 15.

“Just when you’re thinking everything has been released, apparently it hasn’t,” Big Star drummer Jody Stephens tells “Adam Hill is an engineer here at Ardent [Studios] – and the Big Star tape vault aficionado. He’s the guy who’s been digging through stuff, figuring out when stuff was done.”

Tim Buckley’s lovely, folk-rock style continues to please longtime fans and grab the attention of new listeners. Though he passed away in 1975 (at just 28) his music lives on. Adding to the singer-songwriter’s legacy is a new live album coming out in August featuring previously unreleased tracks. Rolling Stone reports that the album will be entitled Live At The Folklore Centre, 1967 and was recorded by journalist Izzy Young, who also interviewed Buckley – an interview that will be included in the release.

The complete track listing for Tim Buckley – Live At The Folklore Centre:

  • Song For Jainie
  • I Never Asked To Be Your Mountain
  • Wings
  • Phantasmagoria In Two
  • Just Please Leave Me
  • Dolphins
  • I Can’t See You
  • Troubadour
  • Aren’t You The Girl?
  • What Do You Do (He Never Saw You)
  • No Man Can Find The War
  • Carnival Song
  • Cripples Cry
  • If The Rain Comes
  • Country Boy
  • I Can’t Leave You Loving Me

Taking a respite from rockin’ out with Jack White in their group The Raconteurs, Brendan Benson is set to release a new solo album. The one-man record is called My Old, Familiar Friend and will be available as of August 24th. This will be Benson’s fourth solo record.

My Old, Familiar Friend: Track-Listing:

  1. A Whole Lot Better
  2. Eyes On The Horizon
  3. Garbage Day
  4. Gonowhere
  5. Feel Like Taking You Home
  6. You Make A Fool Out Of Me
  7. Poised And Ready
  8. Don’t Wanna Talk
  9. Misery
  10. Lesson Learned
  11. Borrow

Brooklyn indie-rockers Yo La Tengo are planning to release Popular Songs, the follow-up to 2006′s I Am Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass on September 8 via Matador. Recorded in Hoboken and Nashville in early ‘09 with longtime associate Roger Mountenot, a message from Matador Records says, “‘Popular Songs’ finds the trio of Georgia Hubley, Ira Kaplan and James McNew at the height of their creative powers, fashioning an epic work that’s cooly confident as it is wildly adventurous.”

“Periodically Double Or Triple” is the first MP3 from ‘Popular Songs,’ which you can check out on the Matador website.