SXSW has announced the US Premiere of The White Stripes – Under Great White Northern Lights. Featuring live footage from White Stripes shows in bowling alleys, buses and the legendary Savoy Theater in the summer of 2007, director Emmett Malloy’s documentary follows the band as they traverse Canada, before reaching their 10th anniversary gig in Nova Scotia.

On March 16 the duo will also be releasing their first-ever official live album, featuring 16 songs on both vinyl and CD, as well as the documentary film.

The feature-length documentary premiered at the Toronto Film Festival in September, but the SXSW screening will be the first in the US. Here’s hoping Jack White and Meg White find their way down to Austin for the SXSW festivities.

Besides the CD and DVD, there is also a limited edition box set containing the album, the documentary, a DVD of the 10th anniversary show, book of performance photos and a limited edition 7-inch vinyl featuring live tracks. It’s available to pre-order on the White Stripes’ official website.

If you want to catch the screening at SXSW be sure to register for a badge by February 12.

Under Great White Northern Lights / Track-List

  • 1. Let’s Shake Hands
  • 2.  Black Math
  • 3.  Little Ghost
  • 4.  Blue Orchid
  • 5.  The Union Forever
  • 6.  Ball and Biscuit
  • 7.  Icky Thump
  • 8.  I’m Slowly Turning Into You
  • 9.  Jolene
  • 10.  300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues
  • 11.  We Are Going to Be Friends
  • 12.  I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself
  • 13.  Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn
  • 14.  Fell In Love With a Girl
  • 15.  When I Hear My Name
  • 16.  Seven Nation Army