While Jonny Greenwood’s day job toils and tours away with rumors of a new album on the horizon (he plays guitar in some British band called Radiohead, right?), he’s also been moonlighting the past several years as a composer of musical scores for films, most notably the disturbing, eclectic score he wrote for Paul Thomas Anderson’s There Will Be Blood in 2007.  Now, Anderson is back with a new film (the ‘we totally swear this isn’t about Scientology [but it’s kinda about Scientology]’ flick The Master), and, once again, Greenwood has composed the soundtrack.

Nonesuch Records announced today that Greenwood’s score for the new Paul Thomas Anderson film will be released on September 11.   The soundtrack is currently available for preorder, as well as offering a free download of the song “Application 45 Version 1” with said preorder.

The Master soundtrack features 11 original compositions by Greenwood as well as four mid-20th Century tunes by UKSO Chamber Orchestra, London Contemporary Orchestra, Ella Fitzgerald, and Helen Forrest.

Previously, Greenwood provided the scores for the 2003 documentary Bodysong, the aforementioned There Will Be Blood in 2007, 2010’s Norwegian Wood, and 2011’s We Need to Talk About Kevin.  While the There Will Be Blood soundtrack was critically lauded, it was later deemed ineligible for Academy Award consideration due it containing earlier, previously released music by Greenwood.

The Master soundtrack:

1. Overtones

2. Time Hole

3. Back Beyond

4. Get Thee Behind Me Satan – Performed by Ella Fitzgerald

5. Alethia

6. Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree (With Anyone Else but Me) – Performed by Madisen Beaty

7. Atomic Healer

8. Able-Bodied Seamen

9. The Split Saber

10. Baton Sparks

11. No Other Love – Performed by Jo Stafford

12. His Master’s Voice

13. Application 45 Version 1

14. Changing Partners – Performed by Helen Forrest

15. Sweetness of Freddie

What do you think of the Jonny Greenwood news?

Source: Billboard