Fans of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs have a good reason to be edgy of late—it’s been roughly four years since the band has released a new album’s worth of music, as their last album, the pop-tinged It’s Blitz!, was released in 2009.  But relax, kids, as the band has posted a new teaser clip on YouTube announcing their newest album (along with offering up the briefest snippet of a new song), Mosquito.

The album is set to be released on April 16th of this year, and was recorded at Sonic Ranch out of Tornilla Texas.  Like previous albums from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Mosquito will feature production from Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio.  Additional production was handled by Nick Launay, and James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem even dropped in to produce one song.

In addition to the hotshot roster of producers, Rolling Stone notes that Dr. Octagon (that’s Kool Keith to you) will be making an appearance on Mosquito as well, just to add the general vibe of strangeness that comes with an album of new tunes from the New York trio.

Frontwoman Karen O. has stated that the album will have a slightly different sound than one might expect from the band:

“I think this record has more moodier and tripped-out songs than you’ve ever heard from us…You might catch some roots reggae and minimalist psychedelia influences in there…We would love for this music to make our fans feeeeel something, for it to stir some shit up inside of them, whatever that may be…So much feeling went into this record, it was the rope ladder thrown down into the ditch for us to climb up and dust ourselves off. I hope others can climb up it too; we’re excited to share the good vibes.”

What do you think of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs news?